J.S. Bach on the Organ

Started by premont, April 29, 2007, 02:16:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

staxomega

Quote from: Elk on July 08, 2021, 04:29:43 AM
I spoiled myself. While I can stream the Kooiman on Aeolus on Spotify in stereo, I like the performances and recordings so much I wanted them in multichannel. The purchase has been worth it. Having 5 channels operating really gives the illusion of being in the church(es). The speakers cannot be located.

This is a very fine set. After hearing it several times and getting familiar with Kooiman's Coronata cycle I'm not 100% certain I'd pass blind tests with some of his students vs himself playing. With the caveat that I am no expert and what mostly stands out to me is articulation, legato, tempo, ornamentation, etc.

I should hear this in surround in our home theater. The recorded stereo sound is extremely good; not overly dry or resonant.

Aeolus is one of the best labels I've heard when it comes to recording organ and harpsichord.

Mandryka

This is very well recorded and played in the grand manner, extrovert, secular, alert to the counterpoint, tasteful, imaginative interesting registrations sometimes. The Ahrend organ is clean sounding, pure tones, rather bright and fine. The lack of bass response is a weakness IMO, but others may disagree. This is Bach with atheist enlightenment values. A good find IMO.

https://susato.blogspot.com/search?q=Boyer+
Wovon man nicht sprechen kann, darüber muss man schweigen

Elk

Quote from: hvbias on July 10, 2021, 11:12:28 AM
This is a very fine set. After hearing it several times and getting familiar with Kooiman's Coronata cycle I'm not 100% certain I'd pass blind tests with some of his students vs himself playing. With the caveat that I am no expert and what mostly stands out to me is articulation, legato, tempo, ornamentation, etc.

I should hear this in surround in our home theater. The recorded stereo sound is extremely good; not overly dry or resonant.