What are you currently reading?

Started by facehugger, April 07, 2007, 12:36:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

vers la flamme

I just found a book I've been seeking out for some time, at one of those "take a book, leave a book" outposts right around the block from my apartment:

What luck! So I reckon I might read this next. I've been dying to read Mishima for a couple of months now.

Dry Brett Kavanaugh

Quote from: vers la flamme on January 17, 2021, 05:52:13 AM
I just found a book I've been seeking out for some time, at one of those "take a book, leave a book" outposts right around the block from my apartment:

What luck! So I reckon I might read this next. I've been dying to read Mishima for a couple of months now.

Excellent work. Pinnacle of Mishima's aestheticism. One of David Bowie's favorite books. The original title of the book is A Ship Towing in the Afternoon.  The story is disturbing to many/most readers, but all readers would recognize Mishima's genius in the work.

The movie is a strangely attractive film as well.

Dry Brett Kavanaugh

Quote from: Iota on January 16, 2021, 08:13:34 AM
I agree, good as the film is, it doesn't approach the intimacy created by the book's extraordinary prose, which for me is on another level.

I've read three other Ishiguro books, The Unconsoled, Never Let Me Go and When We Were Orphans. The Unconsoled is a rare and unforgettable novel, one of my favourites. Never Let Me Go is as usual brilliantly written, though I found it somewhat depressing and harrowing at times. And When We Were Orphans I found somewhat confusing and the least engaging.

For all of these, it's well over a decade since I read them last, but the first two certainly, have left very vivid impressions.

Thank you for the helpful reviews. I need to get The Unconsoled.

Brian

Quote from: SimonNZ on January 16, 2021, 08:07:04 PM
You didn't like the translation, or are you saying its widely disliked?