What are you currently reading?

Started by facehugger, April 07, 2007, 12:36:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brian, Pohjolas Daughter and 11 Guests are viewing this topic.

Haffner

Quote from: Operahaven on January 07, 2008, 05:16:59 PM
Also, as an aside:

Doesn't the existence of many different gods (polytheism) offer a more plausible account than monotheism of the presence of evil and confusion in the world ?

Maybe. You might consider the monotheism of Mazdaism, where Ahura Mazda is God and the devil is his shadow. Forgive me if that's WAY oversimplified.

Kullervo

Quote from: Corey on January 07, 2008, 04:22:46 PM
Rereading the Odyssey. It's been about 7 years since I studied it in school.

Scratch that, I'm actually reading Bulfinch's Mythology. I feel a bit silly I haven't read this already.

Lethevich

I like to read pseudo-science every now and again for fun, and this book disappointed less than most. Check some of the chapter titles:

1. How Ancient is Humanity?
2. Problems with Evolution
3. Could 'Extinct' Creatures Still Exist
4. Living Dinosaurs

Chapter 1, fair game, this is a subject of great debate. 2, ditto, to a lesser extent. 3, even fairer. 4, err... At first I thought this was referring to sharks or crocodiles in some way, but no. This section was accompanied by an "artists rendition" of a small African pygmy standing next to an elephant-sized diplodocus. It goes on:

5. The Mysteries of Human Evolution
6. Suppressed Facts Concerning Ancient Mankind
7. Where Did Our Civilization Come from?
8. The Story of Atlantis

5, yes. 6, OK, but you'd better back this stuff up... 7, yes, an interesting subject. 8, WTF???