The Back Room > The Diner

Personality Types

<< < (43/48) > >>

71 dB:

--- Quote from: greg on November 25, 2021, 03:40:38 PM ---INFP maybe? lol
What is the reason for you to prefer unemployment?
I only have a career for money. I'd also prefer unemployment, but have money- the problem is being unable to care about what other people want, enough to dedicate 40 hours a week to it. Even entrepreneurs have a boss- the market itself. So it's just an illusion, you are subject to doing what others want regardless, because that's how money works, unless you are a thief and can get away with it. It's kinda hopeless tbh, even if I could have my dream job as a composer, I'd probably grow to hate it because I'm only composing because others are requesting me to, and have certain expectations, and that takes the fun out of it. So probably best to do it on the side and leave it as my fun projects.

btw I had assumed everyone is like that, but I asked a coworker what he'd do if he got enough money to not have to work, and he said he didn't know, he'd probably still work.  ???
So this might be a personality thing, indeed, rather than a general human thing?

--- End quote ---

I feel this way because of my INTJ/P personality type. I think INTPs can ideally enjoy their jobs, but work can also easily have aspects that as you say "take the fun out of it". I totally agree about the "Even entrepreneurs have a boss- the market itself." thing and for INTPs it is perhaps typical to see this kind of truths that are strangely invisible for others.

It is not only about what tasks the job incorporates, but also about when, in what order, in what priority and at what speed are those tasks supposed to be done. INTPs enjoy doing things slowly and in their own way. That isn't possible most of the time.

greg: