Your favorite unusual instrument!

Started by pjme, September 08, 2008, 02:11:14 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

pjme

Enough of the windmachines at RVW?

Let's talk here about our favorite anvil, metal block, whip, géophone, Bronté and other Chapeau chinois!

Anything goes : from metal castanets to the violoncello (viola) da spalla.!

Sigiswald Kuyken and his violoncello da spalla.

Solitary Wanderer

Back in my days as a music therapist I would use a Flexitone on occasion.

Guaranteed to put a smile on everyone's face!

;D
'I lingered round them, under that benign sky: watched the moths fluttering among the heath and harebells, listened to the soft wind breathing through the grass, and wondered how any one could ever imagine unquiet slumbers for the sleepers in that quiet earth.' ~ Emily Bronte

Kullervo

Solitary Wanderer

And, being a former 'prog' fan, I still have a soft spot for the mighty Mellotron.

'I lingered round them, under that benign sky: watched the moths fluttering among the heath and harebells, listened to the soft wind breathing through the grass, and wondered how any one could ever imagine unquiet slumbers for the sleepers in that quiet earth.' ~ Emily Bronte

John Copeland

Aye.
The Saw.
And some spoons.
My entire kit for my own wee Symphony Orchestra. :-[

Gurn Blanston

Well, that is admittedly a lovely picture, but it is hard to figure out how the music making is happening. :-\  I'll watch for a while and see though... ;)

For me, favorite unusual instrument is the glass harmonica. I have a bit of recorded music for it and find the sound quite bewitching. :)

8)

----------------
Listening to:
La Petite Bande / Kuijken - Haydn - Hob 01 53 Symphony in D 1st mvmt - Largo maestoso - Vivace
Visit my Haydn blog: HaydnSeek

Haydn: that genius of vulgar music who induces an inordinate thirst for beer - Mily Balakirev (1860)

M forever

Quote from: Gurn Blanston on September 08, 2008, 03:50:07 PM