Apparently audio cassette nostalgia is a thing (so buy my Nakamichi CR7-A)

Started by XB-70 Valkyrie, December 29, 2016, 05:56:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

XB-70 Valkyrie

I read an article on the internet recently about this--so it must be true.  ::)

LPs, I can understand for many reasons (have been collecting them since 1990). Eight tracks--umm, well maybe--soo damn goofy maybe they are cool in some sort of way.

But cassettes??? Really? One of the worst media IMO.

I used a Nakamichi CR7-A for a few years to make tapes of my LPs. They actually sounded very, very good. In 2001, I bought a Pioneer CD-recorder, and the Nakamichi fell into disuse; it no longer works, but I suspect it is a fairly simple repair (if the parts exist).

Given that this was a $2000 item (I bought it used/mint condition for much less!) and was considered one of the best cassette decks in existence, I wonder whether anyone might be interested in it. I have never used Ebay before, but am tempted to list it. ANy ideas?? Anyone here want it?

More generally, is anyone here into cassettes? If so, why?

EDIT: Just checked Ebay, and one is listed (asking price) for $1200 LOL.
If you really dislike Bach you keep quiet about it! - Andras Schiff

Rinaldo

Quote from: XB-70 Valkyrie on December 29, 2016, 05:56:16 PMBut cassettes??? Really? One of the worst media IMO.

It's the DIY factor + the aftermath of the vaporwave craze. I'm not into cassettess myself but self-released tapes are fun and the lower sound quality can actually add a certain 'retro charm' to the whole thing. But mostly it's the package that matters. An artifact, just like a vinyl, but you can make a bunch of cassettes easily without busting the bank account. Smaller bands usually release a limited edition with custom artworks, sometimes hand-painted and therefore individual for each cassette.. a fad, for sure, but a nice and creative one, I think.

XB-70 Valkyrie