Good day

Started by Beale, May 31, 2012, 09:33:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Beale

G'day from a music fan downunder. I have been collecting classical CD at a small scale for over ten years, but I am still very much a beginner. I don't play an instrument, so this music is very daunting for me. All I can rely on is repeated listening and my own instincts. I like going to live concerts and reading about classical music, and this site seems like the prefect place to learn.

I mostly enjoyed the music of Beethoven, Shostakovitch, Schubert, JS Bach, some Tchaikovsky and Mozart. In case someone ask, I am learning about Mahler's music. I found his symphonies 1, 4 and 5 more appealing.

North Star

Quote from: Beale on May 31, 2012, 09:33:34 AMIn case someone ask

;D

Welcome, Beale.

Your favorites are among my favourites, too (along with Bartók, Brahms, Chopin, Debussy, Janacek, Prokofiev, Ravel, Sibelius, Stravinsky)
"Everything has beauty, but not everyone sees it." - Confucius

My photographs on Flickr

Karl Henning

Welcome, and g'day to you!

Quote from: Beale on May 31, 2012, 09:33:34 AM
I mostly enjoyed the music of Beethoven, Shostakovitch, Schubert, JS Bach, some Tchaikovsky and Mozart.

I like that list!  What's some of your favorite Shostakovich?
Karl Henning, Ph.D.
Composer & Clarinetist
Boston MA
http://www.karlhenning.com/
[Matisse] was interested neither in fending off opposition,
nor in competing for the favor of wayward friends.
His only competition was with himself. — Françoise Gilot

Beale

Quote from: karlhenning on May 31, 2012, 10:10:17 AM
Welcome, and g'day to you!

I like that list!  What's some of your favorite Shostakovich?

Thank you. My favorite Shostakovich are his symphonies 10 and 7, violin concerto 1, and piano concerto 2. I am also trying some of his chamber stuff, like the string quartets, preludes and fugues for solo piano.

North Star

I recommend the Piano Trio no. 2.

My photographs on Flickr

Lisztianwagner