Large scale cantata for soloists, chorus, and orchestra

Started by relm1, August 23, 2023, 06:09:38 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

relm1

For the rest of the year, I plan on finishing up an hour-long cantata for soloists, chorus, and orchestra.  I've been working on this off and on (ok, mostly off) since I was a student but hearing some of the original ideas recently, I decided it's finally time to rework this into a finished piece.  It would be in five movements and most of it is sketched but only the first movement is finished so far in full score and the second movement is underway.  The libretto is complete (based on an existing text but curtailed and arrange for the forces) and the short score is mostly done.

Here is an excerpt from the opening of the second movement to give a taste of it. 

https://clyp.it/kybuvb0m

relm1

Still plugging away at this, here is an excerpt from the storm sequence from the fourth and next to last movement.

https://clyp.it/o4t2n1q4

Screenshot 2023-09-05 065312.jpg

Florestan

Quote from: relm1 on September 08, 2023, 05:31:20 AMStill plugging away at this, here is an excerpt from the storm sequence from the fourth and next to last movement.

https://clyp.it/o4t2n1q4

Screenshot 2023-09-05 065312.jpg

What is it about?
When I'm creating at the piano, I tend to feel happy; but - the eternal dilemma - how can we be happy amid the unhappiness of others? I'd do everything I could to give everyone a moment of happiness. That's what's at the heart of my music. — Nino Rota

relm1

Quote from: Florestan on September 08, 2023, 05:54:00 AMWhat is it about?

It is a setting of Samuel Taylor Coleridge's poem, The Rime of the Ancient Mariner, for four soloists, two semi-choirs (SA and TB), full choir, and large orchestra.

Synopsis: