Hi. I found you!

Started by ghmath, November 25, 2023, 04:06:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ghmath

I want to introduce myself. I am a retired mathematician, and a classical music lover since my early childhood. I will be 82 in a few days. My mother language is Spanish. I love good sound, and like to think that I am a sort of audiophile. I want to interchange thoughts about composers, works, performers, audio and related matters, and hope to somehow contribute to the general discussion.

ritter

Welcome to GMG, ghmath. ¡Bienvenido!

I hope you enjoy it here...  :)

Spotted Horses

Welcome!

Who are you favorite composers and performers?
There are simply two kinds of music, good music and the other kind. - Duke Ellington

Scion7

Welcome!  Hope I make it to 82!  :o  ;D
When, a few months before his death, Rachmaninov lamented that he no longer had the "strength and fire" to compose, friends reminded him of the Symphonic Dances, so charged with fire and strength. "Yes," he admitted. "I don't know how that happened. That was probably my last flicker."

Karl Henning

Karl Henning, Ph.D.
Composer & Clarinetist
Boston MA
http://www.karlhenning.com/
[Matisse] was interested neither in fending off opposition,
nor in competing for the favor of wayward friends.
His only competition was with himself. — Françoise Gilot

steve ridgway

Lisztianwagner

Nice to meet you, welcome to the forum!
"Tradition is not the worship of ashes, but the preservation of fire." - Gustav Mahler

ando

LKB

Mit Flügeln, die ich mir errungen...

DavidW

Welcome!  In addition to numerous threads on classical music, we have an audiophile thread in the diner.

vandermolen

Welcome from me too. I hope that you enjoy the Forum.
"Courage is going from failure to failure without losing enthusiasm" (Churchill).

'The test of a work of art is, in the end, our affection for it, not our ability to explain why it is good' (Stanley Kubrick).

Papy Oli

Olivier

ghmath

Dear (new) friends: