What audio system do you have, or plan on getting?

Started by Bonehelm, May 24, 2007, 08:52:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

XB-70 Valkyrie

Quote from: Holden on December 26, 2015, 11:54:45 AM
I just bought something similar in the Fiio Q1 for about $US80. I've attached this to my Sansa View, iPhone 6S and iPad Air with similar results to what Todd has described. It doesn't replace my Fiio E7/E9 combination on my home PC which sounds amazing.

The one issue with upgrading sound cards in PCs is that the sound still has to go through part of the MS Windows sound system with the inevitable degradation in SQ. Much better to use a DAC/amp and bypass it all entirely. It makes a huge difference.

I am new to the headphone amp game, but I have been greatly enjoying my Fiio X1, which has no problem driving my Sennheiser HD 25 SP phones. I am interested in a headphone amp to use with my laptop (w/headphones), and also to drive a small stereo system for my office comprising the Fiio and a pair of powered speakers. Any suggestions for the headphone amp that will work well for all three applications (Fiio/headphone, Fiio/powered speakers, and laptop/headphone)? For a PC/Laptop, is it preferable to connect via 3.5 mm plug or USB? I want something portable (no tubes!!!) and affordable. I am favorably inclined toward Fiio products. Thanks.
If you really dislike Bach you keep quiet about it! - Andras Schiff

Fëanor

Quote from: Holden on December 26, 2015, 11:54:45 AM...

The one issue with upgrading sound cards in PCs is that the sound still has to go through part of the MS Windows sound system with the inevitable degradation in SQ. Much better to use a DAC/amp and bypass it all entirely. It makes a huge difference.

Quite correct.  Most computer music player programs allow you to by-pass the Windows normal audio "stack" (series of programs) by one means or another.  The most common means are:

• 'WASAPI', (see HERE);  this is a Windows facility, or